Services by area


PlusBus

What is PlusBus and can I use it?

Our PlusBus service provides transport for people who are unable to easily access public transport: young or old and including those with mobility difficulties. To use PlusBus, simply register your details with us initially and then pre-book your seat whenever you wish to join the bus. Where possible, we can offer a “door-to-door” service and can also accommodate passengers travelling in wheelchairs.

Where and when can I travel?

Our PlusBus service offers a weekday trip from neighbouring villages to local destination towns, arriving approximately 10am and departing approximately 1pm. Please click on the relevant link below for detail on our current routes to and from:

We are always looking to improve and trial new PlusBus services. Services could run fortnightly or monthly, and we could consider alternating the destination or day of travel according to suggested preferences.

How do I book?

Call us on 01258 287980 (between 9.30am and 2.30pm Monday to Friday, excluding Bank Holidays) or email us at dorset@ectcharity.co.uk. Once registered, trips can be booked up to one month in advance but no later than 2.30pm the previous working day. Please see below for information about bookings around the Bank Holidays.

Do you run on Bank Holidays? What happens over Christmas?

PlusBus does not run on Bank Holidays or any time during the 9-day period from and including Christmas Eve to and including New Year’s Day. As our bookings line is closed during these times, you will need to take note of the deadlines below for booking travel.

Upcoming Bank Holidays 2020

If you want to travel on:

You need to book by 2.30pm on:

Friday 10 April
Monday 13 April

Tuesday 14 April

Thursday 9 April

Friday 8 May

Monday 11 May

Thursday 7 May

Monday 25 May

Tuesday 26 May

Friday 22 May

Monday 31 Aug

Tuesday 1 Sept

Friday 28 Aug

Friday 25 Dec
Monday 28 Dec
Friday 1 Jan 2021

Monday 4 Jan 2021

Thursday 24 Dec 2020

(Office will close on 24 December 2020 and will reopen on Monday 4 January 2021)

How much does it cost?

For most PlusBus services, we currently offer a fixed return fare of £6.

From January 2020, we will be accepting the National Bus Pass. Simply present your valid bus pass to the driver each time you travel! Please note that pass holders will still need to register with us (for free!) and pre-book each journey in the usual way.

How is PlusBus funded?

We do not receive any direct subsidy for our PlusBus service – we provide it as part of our charitable objectives and public benefit to help improve transport opportunities to individuals within the community.

Recent News


Coronavirus: we are here to help our local communities image
Coronavirus: we are here to help our local communities

Walkers group make £17,000 for brain tumour charity – with support from Dorset Community Transport image
Walkers group make £17,000 for brain tumour charity – with support from Dorset Community Transport

Bus pass holders travel for free on Dorset Community Transport’s PlusBus image
Bus pass holders travel for free on Dorset Community Transport’s PlusBus

Dorset Community Transport saves the day for last-minute Christmas shoppers! image
Dorset Community Transport saves the day for last-minute Christmas shoppers!

OUR PARTNERS